AdAware a Virus?
I just downloaded AdAware from download.com. When I try to open the file, AVG picks it up as a trojan. I double checked that it was cNet’s download.com that I really did download the file from, and it was.
Has anyone else had this problem?
Tags: adaware, Interweb, virus Filed under Interweb |3 Responses to “AdAware a Virus?”
Leave a Reply















Lavasoft Ad-Aware is *NOT* a virus, it is a well-known adware scanner.
However, you should be aware that virus writers often trick people into downloading their programs by naming them with a similar or same name. However, download.com (by cNet) is a well-known and trusted site, and while it is possible for any website to be hacked, I would think cNet people would catch on quickly.
The most likely explanation is that because antivirus software must run with a high priority, your antivirus thinks it might be a virus. To be honest, though, antivirus programs should certainly recognize the signatures of other well-known programs.
But this has happened before, and I’m sure it will happen again. I would find a “contact” or email link on download.com and tell them what has happened, and ask if they’ve had a recent attack.
You can also download Ad-Aware direct from Lavasoft’s website at http://www.lavasoft.com
I know what ad-aware is… used it many times. When you go to Lava Soft’s website and download ad-aware for free, it takes you to download.com
Someone had posted a comment on download.com having the same problem…
Do you think maybe it is just AVG?
http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.php?showtopic=11790