<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: AdAware a Virus?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://geeksmakemehot.com/2007/08/09/adaware-a-virus/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://geeksmakemehot.com/2007/08/09/adaware-a-virus/</link>
	<description>I made out with a geek.... and got knocked up!</description>
	<pubDate>Thu, 20 Nov 2008 22:44:53 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.6</generator>
		<item>
		<title>By: jennifer</title>
		<link>http://geeksmakemehot.com/2007/08/09/adaware-a-virus/#comment-1228</link>
		<dc:creator>jennifer</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 12 Aug 2007 13:01:53 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://geeksmakemehot.com/2007/08/09/adaware-a-virus/#comment-1228</guid>
		<description>http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.php?showtopic=11790
&lt;blockquote&gt;No, our installer is not infected.

This has been confirmed a FALSE DETECTION by AVG/Grisoft

This will be fixed in their next update!&lt;/blockquote&gt;</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><a href="http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.php?showtopic=11790" rel="nofollow">http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.php?showtopic=11790</a></p>
<blockquote><p>No, our installer is not infected.</p>
<p>This has been confirmed a FALSE DETECTION by AVG/Grisoft</p>
<p>This will be fixed in their next update!</p></blockquote>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: jennifer</title>
		<link>http://geeksmakemehot.com/2007/08/09/adaware-a-virus/#comment-1227</link>
		<dc:creator>jennifer</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 12 Aug 2007 12:56:47 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://geeksmakemehot.com/2007/08/09/adaware-a-virus/#comment-1227</guid>
		<description>I know what ad-aware is... used it many times.  When you go to Lava Soft's website and download ad-aware for free, it takes you to download.com

Someone had posted a &lt;a href="http://www.download.com/Ad-Aware-2007/9241-8022_4-10039509.html" rel="nofollow"&gt;comment&lt;/a&gt; on download.com having the same problem...

Do you think maybe it is just AVG?</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I know what ad-aware is&#8230; used it many times.  When you go to Lava Soft&#8217;s website and download ad-aware for free, it takes you to download.com</p>
<p>Someone had posted a <a href="http://www.download.com/Ad-Aware-2007/9241-8022_4-10039509.html" rel="nofollow">comment</a> on download.com having the same problem&#8230;</p>
<p>Do you think maybe it is just AVG?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: me</title>
		<link>http://geeksmakemehot.com/2007/08/09/adaware-a-virus/#comment-1226</link>
		<dc:creator>me</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 12 Aug 2007 04:26:36 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://geeksmakemehot.com/2007/08/09/adaware-a-virus/#comment-1226</guid>
		<description>Lavasoft Ad-Aware is *NOT* a virus, it is a well-known adware scanner.

However, you should be aware that virus writers often trick people into downloading their programs by naming them with a similar or same name. However, download.com (by cNet) is a well-known and trusted site, and while it is possible for any website to be hacked, I would think cNet people would catch on quickly.

The most likely explanation is that because antivirus software must run with a high priority, your antivirus thinks it might be a virus. To be honest, though, antivirus programs should certainly recognize the signatures of other well-known programs.

But this has happened before, and I'm sure it will happen again. I would find a "contact" or email link on download.com and tell them what has happened, and ask if they've had a recent attack.

You can also download Ad-Aware direct from Lavasoft's website at http://www.lavasoft.com</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Lavasoft Ad-Aware is *NOT* a virus, it is a well-known adware scanner.</p>
<p>However, you should be aware that virus writers often trick people into downloading their programs by naming them with a similar or same name. However, download.com (by cNet) is a well-known and trusted site, and while it is possible for any website to be hacked, I would think cNet people would catch on quickly.</p>
<p>The most likely explanation is that because antivirus software must run with a high priority, your antivirus thinks it might be a virus. To be honest, though, antivirus programs should certainly recognize the signatures of other well-known programs.</p>
<p>But this has happened before, and I&#8217;m sure it will happen again. I would find a &#8220;contact&#8221; or email link on download.com and tell them what has happened, and ask if they&#8217;ve had a recent attack.</p>
<p>You can also download Ad-Aware direct from Lavasoft&#8217;s website at <a href="http://www.lavasoft.com" rel="nofollow">http://www.lavasoft.com</a></p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
